Coinomi Review – A Beginner’s Guide

By: Ofir Beigel | Last updated: 11/14/19

Coinomi is a popular multicurrency wallet for mobile and desktop. In this review, I’ll cover the different wallet features and share my personal experience with it.

Coinomi Review Summary

Coinomi allows you to send and receive over 125 different coins through a versatile mobile and desktop application. Aside from a security issue which was exposed and fixed back in February 2019, the wallet has gained a good reputation within the cryptocurrency community.

That’s Coinomi in a nutshell. For a more detailed review keep on reading, here’s what I’ll cover:

  1. Coinomi Overview
  2. Coinomi Review
  3. Supported Coins
  4. Setting Up Coinomi
  5. Customer Support and Reviews
  6. Conclusion

1. Coinomi Overview

Coinomi was founded in 2014 by George Kimionis with the idea of creating secure solutions to blockchain applications. The company has under 10 employees and has not reported any outside funding to date.


2. Coinomi Wallet Review

I was acquainted with Coinomi initially when I was trying to claim Bitcoin Cash from the 2017 hard fork. Back then it was one of the only simple solutions to this matter, and the wallet was available only for Android. However, a lot has changed since.

Today, the Coinomi app is available for iOS, Android and all major desktop platforms (Mac, Windows, and Linux). Coinomi is one of the most popular wallets around, mainly due to its vast set of features.

Security

Coinomi stores the private keys to your wallet on your device (i.e. a non-custodial wallet). Strong encryption and cryptography keep your funds safe. Also, you’ll need to set a password for sensitive actions, such as withdrawals.

On February 27th, 2019, a critical security vulnerability was supposedly exposed in the Coinomi desktop wallet. The issue occurred once you’ve imported a seed phrase into the wallet; along the import process, the seed phrase was actually sent to an external service by Google for spell check.

It goes without saying that a seed should NEVER leave the wallet. You can read all about it here. You can also read the counter argument in favor of Coinomi here.

Privacy

Coinomi guards user privacy with the following measures:

  • No KYC needed
  • No IP association
  • No identity linking
  • No transactions tracking

Built-in Exchange

Coinomi allows you to trade between cryptocurrencies within the wallet without the need to visit an exchange. This is done through the integration of services like ShapeShift and Changelly.

SegWit Support

Coinomi supports Segwit which means that if you’re sending Bitcoin or Litecoin, you’ll be able to enjoy faster confirmations and lower transaction fees.

Custom and Dynamic Fees

Coinomi allows you to set a custom fee for your transactions. Alternatively, you can use a dynamically calculated fee to get the best value for money at all times.

Coinomi Is not Open Source

Most people who are interested in cryptocurrency prefer open source software, as they should. Coinomi was part of the open source software movement, allowing anyone to review their code.

With peer review, any hidden code, malicious modules, or exploits would be easily identified. This ensures that users aren’t subject to any hidden malware that secretly benefits Coinomi or third parties.

However, it seems that about a year ago Coinomi moved their project to be closed source. This is not to say that their code isn’t good or became malicious, but it does mean that you don’t get the same amount of protection or transparency as you do with open source.


3. Supported Coins

Coinomi supports over 125 different coins and blockchains (the biggest number of assets for noncustodial wallets according to their site). The most popular coins Coinomi supports are:

For a complete list of supported assets visit this page. Additionally, you can manually add support for any asset not listed on the site.


4. Setting Up Coinomi

Here’s a short tutorial about how to set up you’re Coinomi wallet:


5. Customer Support and Reviews

Coinomi offers support via a comprehensive knowledge base and a ticket system.

According to posts on Reddit, Coinomi representatives are very responsive, claiming that they have “hundreds of thousands of happy users” and that they “have been around since 2014 and none of their phone-based wallets have been hacked or otherwise compromised.”

According to users, this appears to be the case, as there aren’t many saying anything negative about their service. Most online reviews seem to confirm this as well giving the Coinomi wallet between 4-5 stars.


6. Conclusion

The user friendliness of the Coinomi wallet, combined with great security and a huge array of supported cryptocurrencies makes Coinomi a great choice for desktop or mobile.

Additionally, since new users often aren’t comfortable trading on exchanges with numbers jumping around on both the ask and sell side, trading through the Coinomi wallet simplifies the process tremendously.

Anyone, even advanced users, would likely see the benefit of using the Coinomi wallet. The only concern about Coinomi is the fact that it is no longer open source. However, there are many excellent wallets out there that aren’t open source as well (e.g. Exodus).

Have you had any experience with Coinomi? I’d love to hear about it in the comment section below.

Coinomi

Free
8.5

Privacy

9.2/10

Ease of use

9.1/10

Security

8.2/10

Transparency

7.3/10

Pros

  • Easy to use
  • Huge altcoin support
  • Exchange capabilities

Cons

  • Not open source

Bitcoin Video Crash Course 

Dummy-proof explainer videos enjoyed by over 100,000 students. One email a day for 7 days, short and educational, guaranteed.

We hate spam as much as you do. You can unsubscribe with one click.

17
Leave a Reply

avatar
7 Comment threads
10 Thread replies
8 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
11 Comment authors
bobSteven HayRonRishabh LohiyaDameon Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
bob
Guest
bob

my recommendation is to stay away from coinomi because is not secure, they or somebody else stole from me 1.89 Zec

Rishabh Lohiya
Guest
Rishabh Lohiya

Why doesn’t coinomi support currencies like XRP and TRX?

Luke Childs
Guest
Luke Childs

“Coinomi Offers Unparalleled Privacy”
You may want to check this:

All of your addresses are literally leaked in plain text over the internet when you open the app.

RichBCH
Guest
RichBCH

Coinomi was the only wallet that I could find (there may be others) that successfully allowed me to sweep my pre 01 August BTC keys in to claim my BCH.

I have been using Coinomi (for BCH only)now for over a month and am very happy with it. I keep my BTC in a different wallet (not Coinomi) so as not to make a mistake like sending/receiving BTC when I meant to send/receive BCH.

michael
Guest
michael

Love this wallet so far, even if it is closed source. Question: If coinomi goes out of business 10 years later, with zero support for the app, no longer pays fees for servers, no longer pays appstore fees, will I still be able to use this app to withdraw my coins? Does anyone know if these type of HD wallets work this way?

Wan
Guest
Wan

I noticed it doesn’t do XRP (Ripple) yet although on github it says they were going to add it 5 mouths ago.

Avi
Guest
Avi

This is my first wallet and so I can not compare it, however, I had a problem exchanging OMG with it. It may be due to my lack of experience with crypto. I love the wallet .